We are happy to announce that Lymphoma Canada has selected new members of its Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).

We are happy to announce that Lymphoma Canada has selected new members of its Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).

Eight new medical professionals from varying disciplines and regions in Canada have been selected to provide support and new direction to the organization.   

Doctors David MacDonald, John Kuruvilla, Doug Stewart, Matt Cheung, Tom Kouroukis, Sarit Assouline, Kerry Savage, and David Hodgson will replace roles previously held by Dr. Joe Connors, Dr. Spencer Gibson, Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz, Dr. Kevin Imrie, and Dr. Ralph M. Meyer.

Dr. Isabelle Bence-Bruckler will remain as a SAB member.

Dr. Joe Connors has been Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board since the formation of Lymphoma Canada and on May 24, 2013 announced that he would be vacating his post and retiring as Chair.

“After 15 years I think that I have provided the ideas and guidance that I can come up with and I think it’s good for organizations to move through leadership changes because that brings new perspective and new energy,” Connors says in interview.

“Several of the other members of the SAB have also been quite long serving like myself and it was also time for them to pass the baton to another generation of investigators and clinicians.”

The selection of new Scientific Advisory Board members was one of Dr. Connors last activities as Chair. He polled senior leaders in the lymphoma research and treatment fields throughout Canada and sought nominations for people with substantial experience in the field of lymphoma and lymphoid cancers. He also sought individuals from varying regions and in a wide range of expertise—from hematologists and medical oncologists to radiation oncologists.

Throughout the years the SAB has been an integral part of Lymphoma Canada. It is responsible for the selection of research fellows and has always provided research related information to the organization. They have helped guide the direction of the organization and we celebrate and thank past members for their outstanding support.  

The entrance of eight new outstanding members marks a new era for Lymphoma Canada and the SAB. The new members will take on more initiatives including the formation of standard treatment guidelines for lymphoma across the country.

“I hope that (the SAB) will seize the initiative and take this as an opportunity to look at what the organization is doing and has done in the past and identify new initiatives and new directions in which it should move,” Dr. Connors says.

We welcome the following individuals to the Lymphoma Canada community:

Dr. David MacDonald, MD, FRCPC

Dr. John Kuruvilla, CHAIR, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Doug Stewart, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Matt Cheung, MD, FRCPC, SM

Dr. Tom Kouroukis, MD, FRCPC

Dr. Sarit Assouline, MD

Dr. Kerry Savage, MD

Dr. David Hodgson, MD, MPH, FRCPC

Dr. Isabelle Bence Bruckler, MD, FRCPC

We thank the following members for their outstanding contributions. Our current successes are in part credited to you:

Dr. Joe Connors, CHAIR; MD

Dr. Spencer Gibson, PhD

Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz, MD FRCPC FRCRC

Dr. Kevin Imrie, MD FRCPC

Dr. Ralph M. Meyer, MD, FRCP(C)


About admin