juin192018

Dr Joseph M. Connors

La participation du Dr Connors aux activités de Lymphome Canada remonte à notre stade embryonnaire. Certains patients, après avoir eu l’idée de créer un organisme de soutien pour les personnes atteintes d’un lymphome, s’adressent au Dr Connors pour obtenir son appui et ses bons conseils. Répondant à leurs demandes, le Dr Connors a joué un rôle déterminant dans la mise sur pied d’un plan qui a mené à la création de notre organisme. Il a également été le premier président du comité consultatif scientifique de Lymphome Canada.

Titulaire d’un diplôme de médecine de la Yale University, le Dr Connors fait sa résidence en médecine interne, puis devient résident en chef de la University of North Carolina, à Chapel Hill. Il travaille plus tard deux ans au Indian Health Service en Alaska avant de terminer son postdoctorat en oncologie médicale à la Stanford University, sous la direction du Dr Saul Rosenberg. En 1981, il accepte un poste en oncologie médicale à la BC Cancer Agency et, depuis lors, il est membre de la faculté de médecine de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique où, en 1997, il accède au poste de professeur clinique.

Actuellement, le Dr Connors est professeur clinique du département de médecine de la Division d’oncologie médicale à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et président du Lymphoma Tumor Group de la British Columbia Cancer Agency. Ses activités cliniques et ses travaux de recherche portent sur l’acquisition d’une meilleure compréhension des cancers lymphoïdes. Le Dr Connors est reconnu à l’échelle nationale et internationale pour ses travaux dans le domaine du lymphome.

Le Dr Connors assume les rôles suivants :

  • Professeur clinique, faculté de médecine, Université de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Oncologue médical, B.C. Cancer Agency
  • Chef, Provincial Lymphoma Tumour Group, B.C. Cancer Agency
  • Directeur clinique, B.C. Cancer Agency, Centre for Lymphoid Cancer

Le Dr Connors a publié plus de 250 articles scientifiques revus par des pairs concernant différents aspects de la recherche sur les cancers lymphoïdes. Son talent lui a valu de nombreux prix, dont le prix Terry Fox pour la recherche sur le cancer de l’Association médicale de la Colombie-Britannique, le Bernard L. Schwartz Memorial Award du Scripps health system, San Diego (Californie), le Prix John W. Whittick Memorial Société canadienne du cancer de la Saskatchewan Medical Association et le Karl Musshoff Award du German Hodgkin Lymphoma Study Group, Cologne (Allemagne).

Ardent défenseur des droits des patients, le Dr Connors a marqué la vie d’innombrables patients atteints d’un lymphome et formé de nombreux hématologues qui partagent leurs connaissances au profit des patients de tout le pays et de ceux à l’étranger.

Récemment, le Dr Connors a pris sa retraite après une longue et éminente carrière à la BCCA, Vancouver. 

Like with Social Media

Jun192018

Dr. Joseph M. Connors

Dr. Connors’ involvement with Lymphoma Canada dates back to our embryonic stage. When patients conceived of the idea of an organization to support lymphoma patients, they approached Dr. Connors for his wisdom and support. He provided both, and was integral in establishing a plan that brought Lymphoma Canada to fruition. He was also Lymphoma Canada’s first Chair of our Scientific Advisory Board.

Dr. Connors received his MD from Yale University and did his Internal Medicine residency training and chief residency at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. He then worked in the Indian Health Service in Alaska for two years before completing his Medical Oncology Fellowship at Stanford University under Dr Saul Rosenberg. He accepted a position in Medical Oncology at the BC Cancer Agency in 1981 and has been a member of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of British Columbia since that time reaching the position of Clinical Professor in 1997.

Presently, he is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Medicine, Division of Medical Oncology, at the University of British Columbia and the chair of the Lymphoma Tumor Group for the British Columbia Cancer Agency and focuses his clinical activities and research efforts in the area of understanding lymphoid cancers. He is recognized both nationally and internationally for his work in the field of lymphoma.

Dr. Connors’ roles include:

  • Clinical Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia
  • Medical Oncologist, B.C. Cancer Agency
  • Head, Provincial Lymphoma Tumour Group, B.C. Cancer Agency
  • Clinical Director, B.C. Cancer Agency, Centre for Lymphoid Cancer

Dr. Connors has published over 250 peer-reviewed scientific articles addressing various aspects of research into lymphoid cancers.  He has been awarded the Terry Fox Cancer Research Award by the British Columbia Medical Association, the Bernard L. Schwartz Memorial Award by the Scripps health system in San Diego, California, the Canadian Cancer Society John W. Whittick Memorial Award by the Saskatchewan Medical Association and the Karl Musshoff Award of the German Hodgkin Lymphoma Study Group, Cologne, Germany.

A fierce patient advocate, Dr. Connors has touched the lives of countless lymphoma patients and trained scores of hematologists who are sharing their knowledge to benefit patients across the country as well as internationally. 

Recently, Dr. Connors retired from a long and distinguished career with BCCA in Vancouver. 

Like with Social Media